Random thoughts

  • I’m number one in my facebook March Madness pool! Last year I was dead last pretty much the whole way through, because my bracket was basically random and I picked University of Illinois to go all the way, which sucked when they lost in, like, the second round. This year I always picked the top-seeded team to win unless I was attached to the bottom seeded team, which means that I usually sided with California/Pac 10 teams or Jesuit universities, since I went to one (my school isn’t good enough to participate in March Madness, so I never have the urge to, say, put them through to the end despite all odds, like my b-fri Cambria did with USC this year). It’s working out well so far, but I don’t expect to be on top for too long. Still, it’s nice not to be last; that was my goal.
  • As far as I know my roommate and I haven’t gotten an electric bill for March, but our lights are still on. I don’t know. It’s been bugging me. I really doubt we overpaid last month. Now would be a really bad time for my electricity to get cut off.
  • I planned an egg hunt for the people in my office yesterday, and it went really well. I got up super early and went to the office before anybody else got there. It was really strange, because I’m always, like, the last person there in the mornings–so eerily silent. But I hid all the eggs and around 3:00 I set everybody loose hunting for them. I was worried it wouldn’t work out very well because I thought there wouldn’t be enough eggs, or everybody would find them very quickly and it wouldn’t be much fun, or that there would be party poopers. But none of that happened! Actually, they looked for the last egg forever and it was, of course, right in front of their faces; Alex actually picked up the table it was on, didn’t see it, put the table down and it rolled off and into a corner and he STILL didn’t see it. It was pretty awesome. I also got a chance to show off my non-math skills, having miscounted the eggs and then being unable to calculate how many there REALLY were. According to me, 34 is a multiple of six. I’m very embarrassed, but hey, I never professed to be a math whiz.
eggs
  • Why does the word “whiz” have an “h” in it when the word “wizard” doesn’t?
Leave a Reply

