Feeling it

This post over at Through the Tollbooth pretty much cracked me up; well, not the whole thing, and not in a bad way, just the part where Liz Gallagher said, “As I write, I naturally tend to try to feel what my character’s body would be doing given what they’re going through emotionally.” This was so funny to me because last night I had a very similar experience, and it sort of surprised me. I was writing a part of MB where the two main characters are approaching a house, and inside the house is a person who may or may not be able to tell them something incredibly important about a friend who is missing and I WAS NERVOUS. Why?! I knew what was going to happen. And THEN someone was telling the protags a very sad, sordid story and when I was finished writing it I actually had to get up and go outside and breathe some fresh air because I was so worked up–heart pounding, palms sweating, stomach dropping, etc. It’s so funny when you get so involved in the story that the lines between you and your characters become really blurred.

Speaking of weird things writers do while writing, like Liz I sometimes close my eyes and type when I’m trying to come up with a word or phrase or just concentrate on what I’m writing and shut everything out. I also sometimes turn my head to the side and type for…a change in perspective? I have no idea why I do that, I just sometimes feel compelled to do it. I also like to give my characters’ dialogue a test run, so whenever I have the apartment to myself I act out the parts aloud–my neighbors must think I’m schizophrenic or something, because our walls our THIN.

Anyone have a weird writing tick/interesting quirk they’d like to share?

One Response

  1. Nothing so interesting, alas. The best I can come up with is that when I write, I frequently have to stand up and ‘rehearse’ the scene, pacing and talking to myself, occasionally holding invisible weapons or waltzing with insubstantial dance partners and confusing my family (Or, at least, any guests that might be over. My family’s grown mostly used to it). And what I rehearse is never what ends up on the computer screen.

Leave a Reply

