Watching my life explode (in a good way)

Wow, this is going to be a very, very busy weekend for me. One of the things I love about living in New York (the thing that cancels out all of the worries about rent and bills, the frustration with tourists, the cold winters and humid summers, the way you hemorrhage money just walking down the sidewalk, etc.) is that there’s always something to do. When I was living in California (I feel like a broken record saying this, but it’s so true) I made less money but I also spent less, because I was living rent-free with my parents and I didn’t have to pay for car insurance so my only expense was gas and it was cheaper then although of course I drove approx. 100 miles a day back and forth to work and also food was pretty much free. But I was so lonely, especially after Aaron, one of my best friends, totally dropped me like a hot potato (long story, I’ll tell it someday when it’s more to the point). And I was SO, SO BORED. I was bored at my job, I was bored at home, I was bored in the car on the way to work, I was bored at the gym (unless Jeopardy was on). The only redeeming things I ever did that year were have late-night coffee with my friend Scott, watch Netflix DVDs, read, and write AUT. Thank God, because otherwise AUT probably would never have gotten written.

But now it’s only two years later and I am in a completely, wonderfully different place. I recognize all the things I have and am grateful for them, and I also know that I worked pretty hard to get them, so I don’t necessarily feel guilty about it, but still. I’m lucky. HOWEVER. Sometimes, it’s a little much. I don’t know what it is about this weekend, but hoards of people I know are flooding New York, independently of each other, and I don’t know how I’m going to handle the influx! For instance, my friend Cambria’s dad and teenage sister are here this weekend, which doesn’t much affect me except that we’re having dinner today. That’s good, I can handle that, it’ll be fun and relaxing. But also my friend Abby is moving to New York today, and I want to be around to help her with anything she might need or just keep her company if she gets a little overwhelmed/lonely. Also, my friend Mike from college (and possibly his girlfriend, Lauren, who I also know and am friends with from college? This is something I’m unsure about) is in town and I’d like to see him because I haven’t in like two years, but I don’t know his plans and it’s hard to get a hold of him, so who knows? Also, my friend Paul is in town for the Columbia Publishing Institute, but he’s super busy because he’s in class during the day and working for his job at night, so while he wants to do hang out this weekend he isn’t quite sure when he can fit it in. Also, I promised my roommate that I’d go with her to scope out the Fordham area in the Bronx and see some apartments for one of her best friends, a guy we both know from grad school who is moving here, on Saturday. I also have brunch plans with Katie, Nikki and Kyle, and dinner plans at Nikki’s place on Saturday. I also have two friends coming into town Saturday night–Carmen, one of my best friends from college and former roommate, and her fiance Tim, who is also a friend from college. I feel like I definitely need to spend Sunday and Monday with them, which I’m really excited to do. NOT TO MENTION the fact that on Tuesday the San Diego half of the 4S (don’t ask, long story, that is what me and my three best friends from high school call ourselves), Kim and Jenny, is coming into town on Tuesday night, and Carmen and Tim don’t leave until Wednesday! How did this weekend blow up into such a huge tangled mess of people to see and places to go and things to do?

I know this wasn’t about writing, but it was on my mind. In book news…there isn’t any! Oh, wait, maybe I didn’t say this but J asked for my bio on Friday for the pitch letter, so I sent her a serious one and a funny one (the funny one just has an extra line in it), and I have no idea which she’s decided to use (I hope the funny one). Also, I sent her the cleanest copy of the AUT MS I have, complete with something I’ve never shown her before–the epigraphs! Yes, epigraphs. I KNOW. Sometime I will post about my love/hate relationship with epigraphs, but that’s not for this discussion. But maybe you could tell me what you think of them? Pretentious or tone setting? Is one enough, or the more the merrier (within reason)? Lemme know!

(Also, this is sort of apropos of nothing, but what happened to the tag function? I just noticed it has disappeared.)

(ETA: Um, maybe because I wrote this as a page instead of a post. Whoops. Hope I can fix it!)

One Response

  1. Have a great weekend with your new friend in the city….I hope the weather holds and it’s not to muggy! Having once lived in NYC for eight years (long ago) I remember that summers there can get very hot!

Leave a Reply

