No news

I thought I should write something here since my last post said I was still in California, which I’m not anymore. I got back a week ago, and my flight was pretty heinous, and I spent this entire week engaged in quite an emotional and logical and moral struggle–plus I got a cold, which left me with some serious sinus headaches, but that seems to be mostly cleared up now. So I’m tired, and I needed this three-day weekend. Today I woke up at 1:30 PM, which my mother would scoff at as just par for the course, but I can’t really remember the last time I slept so late. On weekends I usually get up at about 10:30, so…I guess I was sleeping off the last of this sickness.

I’m still going through the MB rough draft, adding section breaks and whatever. It’s good to read through the whole draft in one document, because I’ve discovered that when I write chapters in separate documents it closes a door in my mind from one chapter to the other. This is good for some reasons, but I realize that I forget a lot of what I wrote in the rough draft, because I keep coming across portions and going, “Ha! I don’t remember this, but it’s pretty good.” Which I guess is nice in its own way. Now I’m just rambling. Anyway, I’m also, of course, finding inconsistencies, so I’m jotting them down in a notebook so I’ll have a task list when I start really editing this thing in October.

Also, I just finished Carol Goodman’s latest, The Night Villa, which, while I liked it, was not as good as my Goodman favorites, The Lake of Dead Languages and The Ghost Orchid. On the other hand, I preferred this one to The Sonnet Lover, which I liked but didn’t love. The problem with The Night Villa (and this might be my problem, not Goodman’s) is that I was rooting for the wrong love story. Whoops! Still, if you like Goodman, this is another great read. And if you don’t like Goodman, I must ask you: WHY NOT? She’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

