Inspiration

Someday soon, I hope, my friend Eric is going to design me a website. We haven’t been really working on it because of the summer and our various vacations and my need to really finish my revisions, etc., but hopefully now that it’s fall we can start thinking about things and get the ball rolling. I’ve also been putting it off because ideally I’d like to maybe possibly sell AUT before we design the site, mostly because, you know, some content besides the blog would be nice. But I’m not sure how long it’s going to take to do that, so I think we’ll take our time and work on it when we can until I make a decision about what exactly I would like to go up.

Anyway, Eric told me to start gathering up some ideas about what I want the site to look like. I have kind of an idea but no concrete plan, so I decided the best way would be to gather up images that invoked the aesthetic I wanted and then show them to him and see what he can do with that. The easiest (read: laziest) way I’ve found to do this is to subscribe to the RSS feeds for We Heart It and FFFFOUND and a frillion other Tumblrs and use Google Reader’s star feature to keep track of all the images I like. I’ve been downloading them and putting them into a Picasa album for Eric to look at when he gets home.

I thought I’d put up some samples here. Mostly they conform to one very broad aesthetic, a sort of vintage, shabby-chic (I guess–this is the term Eric used) look with lots of muted, faded tones and soft light filters. My attraction to this aesthetic sort of surprises me, since I’m usually all about bright colors and graphics, but I want the site to be sophisticated and understated and beautiful, not loud and in-your-face. Enjoy!

I know it’s probably been done over and over again, but I really like the vintage Poloroid look a lot of these pictures have. It’s nice and subtle. This isn’t the entire collection of images I’ve amassed for Eric, but it’s a good sampling.

[Also, I should note that none of these photographs were taken by me, and they are the property of whoever produced them. This is just for illustration. If you know anything about We Heart It and FFFFOUND and Tumblr, you’ll know that a lot of these photos just wandered into my Google Reader without sources, so if they belong to you and you’d like me to put up a link please email me.]

One Response

  1. […] – bookmarked by 2 members originally found by sukatra on 2008-12-14 Inspiration https://annakjarzab.wordpress.com/?p=211 – bookmarked by 4 members originally found by inkywretch […]

Leave a Reply

