Quick Links

Now, I’m not going to go play with you and dare to assume that, if you’re a fan or writer or both of YA fiction you’re not reading Ally Carter’s blog, because you totes are, right? Right. But, just in case you haven’t checked in with Ally for a while, I wanted to alert you to two posts she’s done on questions aspiring YA writers tend to ask, and those they don’t, and why the former are wrong and how we should be asking the latter. Very instructive, from a lady who really knows her stuff. Also, she has a really good perspective on what it means to be writing YA fiction v. writing adult fiction, which pretty much corresponds with what I’ve been recently thinking on the matter (that the perspective of the novel, typified by your narrator, determines this; if it’s a teen perspective, it’s YA, if it’s an adult perspective, it’s adult, although of course there are exceptions to every rule and I’m sure you could punch holes in that theory if you tried).

Also, if you’re a fan of YA writer John Green (and who isn’t?), he posted dates, times, and locations for his Paper Towns book tour on his blog, plus the dates and geographical locations for his and Hank’s Tour de Nerdfighting. Not to mention there’s an extended Question Tuesday filmed at a library that John just posted, and in the first part he talks about writing, which I always love (obvs).

Lastly, please do head over to Joelle Anthony’s blog and congratulate her on selling her YA novel, RESTORING HARMONY. It sounds awesome and I can’t wait to read it.

2 Responses

  1. I NEED PLEASE… A BIOGRAPHY ABOUT ALLY CARTER. I AM A STUDENT, AND IM SORRY IF SHE IS BUSY BUT I NEEDDDDD INFORMATION!!

    IF YOU COULD PLEASE, SEND ME ANY LINKS TO ANY GOOD WEBSITES THAT HAVE A HANDFUL OF INFORMATION PLEASE SEND IT TO ME!!

    OR, IF SHE COULD PLEASE REPLY TO HER MYSPACE MESSAGE FROM ME, TINA, [I SENT HER TWO!!!!] PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE!!!

    im desperate..:(

    • Oh dear. I don’t really know Ally so I can’t provide any information, and I do know she’s a bit reticent to pour out details about her biography on the Internet, but I suggest you check her website or do a search for “book reports” on her blog. She explains more there. Sorry I can’t help.

Leave a Reply

