Drive by linking

Not much to say here today, unfortunately, as I got too little sleep, so I’m falling back on that old blogger stand-by, the link dump.

  • Recently, Esquire put out a list of “The 75 Books Every Man Should Read” which, while very comprehensive in the dead white guy category, was conspicuously lacking in books by people of color, of which there are only a handful, and also books written by women, of which there is only one: Flannery O’Connor’s short story collection A Good Man Is Hard To Find. Now, I think it’s great Esquire is encouraging men to read, but come on–give a little love to the very talented ladies who have been writing brilliant novels for several centuries now. Also, I think no list of “books every man should read” is complete without Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice–a man can learn a LOT by following that masterpiece closely. And how did Esquire miss Don Delillo’s White Noise?
  • So, naturally, the ladies over at Jezebel couldn’t resist having their say, and compiled another list: “The 75 Books Every Woman Should Read.” They came up with the first 20 books, then culled the suggestions in the comments section into a larger list. This list has a couple of books by men on it (Angela’s Ashes by Frank McCourt, Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera, and Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert are the ones I noticed), but it’s mostly books by women, obviously. I have read very few of these books, sad to say, so I think I’m going to make it a challenge over the next two years (to give me time to read other books in between) to read the list in its entirety. I would even really like to reread the ones I have read, because most of them I read in college or earlier. Also, I would add Mary Doria Russell’s The Sparrow to this list.
  • Probably most people who read this blog have already heard about YA for Obama, the social networking site for YA writers, readers and fans set up by Maureen Johnson on the Ning in order to drum up support for Senator Obama’s presidential race and also foster discussion about important issues and facilitate education, but if not I’m going to suggest you head over there and see what’s what. If you do join, go ahead and friend me through my profile.

I think that’s all I’ve got.

Leave a Reply

