The Procrastination Station

You can probably figure out how MB revisions are going by the title of this post! Blurgh. My motivation is at dangerously low levels right now. I meant well. I really thought I would finish tidying the manuscript up this weekend so that I could send it to Joanna on Monday. I still think I might meet that deadline, but still, I didn’t want to get down to the wire on Sunday night like this. Why, you ask, am I blogging instead of REVISING? Exactly.

I didn’t do a lick of work yesterday. That is the most disappointing part. Instead, I watched three episodes of Dexter Season 2, an episode and a half of Pushing Daisies, read a bunch of blogs, downloaded music, and continued to read Donna Tartt’s The Secret History. Then I went out to a bar on 36th Street to watch USC kick the crap out of the University of Oregon Ducks, which was VERY VERY GRATIFYING, even though Oregon isn’t nearly as good as SC, because the Trojans whoopsed it last week and lost to the UNRANKED Oregon State team, which was totes humiliating.

I’m now 150 pages into my 288 page manuscript, so technically that means if I put my nose to the proverbial grindstone I could be done by the end of tonight. If I can force my fingers to the keyboard. I’m not really good at the whole turning off the Internet to get more work done thing. I’m also not good at saying no to social engagements, although I’m getting better at going home at a reasonable hour. (Although “reasonable hour” usually means “still getting home at 2 AM” but it’s not for lack of trying, the trains are just all absurd on the weekends and it takes forever!)

Oh, and I saw Chris March AGAIN last night. He is stalking me.

Leave a Reply

