Epic Day of Fail (Reprise)

Thankfully, yesterday wasn’t filled with quite as much FAIL as the day before. I did end up “fixing” my iPod, and I put “fixing” in quotation marks because it is not really fixed, it just has less problems than it did before.

I made a huge mistake. I looked at the picture of the product I had ordered from the iPod fixing Internet store and I noticed that there was no hold button on it. And I says to myself, I says, Crap. They’re sending me a new one, but it’s just going to be the same thing I ordered before, meaning that there would be no hold button. Because, you see, you can actually take apart the hold button and install the replacement headphone jack into your current hold button. This might be easier to understand with visuals:

This is the product that actually came in the mail on Wednesday. See the big thing that looks like an audio jack? That’s the audio jack. See that little rectangular piece of practically nothing directly across from the audio jack? That goes inside the hold switch. Below is what I thought was the product I was getting:

Now, it’s flipped around but it’s basically the same, except instead of a little dinky piece of nothing, that little dinky piece of nothing is inside a new hold switch. AND THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN SO MUCH EASIER TO INSTALL. But because I thought that, although I originally thought I got the product in the first photo erroneously and called and had them send me a replacement, I then realized that the first photo is the photo that was next to the product I actually ordered. So I got the piece I ordered, and I assumed they’d just send me another one that was just like it.

Sigh. This might have been somewhat avoided if I hadn’t found instructions on the website I purchased the replacement jack from that told you how to take apart your hold button and install the new jack into it. So I thought that was what I had to do. I WAS SO WRONG, INTERNET. SO WRONG.

Because today, when the replacement of the replacement came, guess what? It had a hold switch on it! Just like the second photo above. But yesterday I “fixed” my iPod by installing the audio jack I’d already received, ruining my hold button in the process (it no longer works). Additionally, although I can now hear clearly out of my audio jack (it used to fade in and out or completely stop working if I didn’t jam the headphones in properly and hold it in such a way that it never moved even half a millimeter in any direction), I can still hear out of only one headphone. But get this: it’s a different headphone than I used to be able to hear out of! I used to be able to only hear out of the left headphone, now I can only hear out of the right headphone. Do you know what that means? It means that the problem is probably not the audio jack, it’s the motherboard, which I cannot fix myself and would never attempt to. ARGGHGHGH. And now I have this extra audio jack/hold switch I don’t know what to do with, because I’m definitely NOT reopening my iPod and installing this new one even though it would fix my hold switch problem.* TOO MUCH WORK.

But, please, learn from me, dear friends. Do not try to repair your own iPod, especially if the problem is with the audio jack. Just don’t do it! There are places online that will do it cheaply and quickly, although I cannot vouch for the quality of the work.

Still, although I got a lot of help from Sunil and also did not end up really fixing my iPod in the way that I meant to fix it, I opened it, installed the audio jack, and closed it without damaging the hard drive or the battery or anything pertinent (okay, I did damage the hold switch, but that could not be avoided and is mostly not a big deal). I still have all my music, and even though I’m having to adjust to only hearing out of the right headphone after a year of only hearing out of the left one (it changes how the songs sound, and not always in a good way), my iPod is still arguably functional AND I got to see what it looks like inside, so I’m calling this a WIN.

I still don’t know what comes next in my new WIP, though. Working on it!

*Seriously, you guys, I totally jerry-rigged my iPod. I used a screw from an eyeglass repair case to affix my hold button to the backing case just enough so that I could close the damn thing without having it all fall apart! Hey, at least the battery still charges, which was a major concern for me, since I stuffed it in there and couldn’t tell if I’d reconnected it correctly.

Leave a Reply

