NaFiRoBIMSCOn FTW

Not that there are very many people who read this blog who don’t also watch the seriously made of awesome videos superbrothers Hank and John Green post weekly at their YouTube Channel, but Shannel reads this, so there’s at least one and thus I will explain a couple of things.

1. November has been arbitrarily designated National Novel Writing Month, also known as NaNoWriMo, wherein writers, published and unpublished, attempt to finish a novel (or at least 50,000 words of one) in a month. I foolishly tried to write MB during NaNo last year, but I think I got about 3,000 words in before I got a full request for AUT from an agent (not Joanna) and decided I needed to concentrate on that one…or something, I don’t know what the excuse was, but in any case NaNo was abandoned and MB didn’t get written until this past summer.

2. John’s book Paper Towns just hit the New York Times Bestseller List for Children’s Chapter Books and to thank all the Nerdfighters for making that happen, he took requests. One of the requests was more of a query, which was whether or not John was participating in NaNo, to which he responded that he was not, that he couldn’t write a book in a month, and that instead he was going to propose NaFiRoBIMSCOn–National Finish a Revision of Your Book I Mean Seriously Come On month.

3. I MEAN SERIOUSLY COME ON. Agreesies. People have been asking me if I’m doing NaNo, and I briefly considered it, what with the very supportive emails that have been coming to my inbox lately telling me that “I can do it!” and “I’m a winner!” and other niceties, but the truth is that I’m not at a stage with either GR or (gulp) SM to write either of them, because I’m not done with all of the pre-writing, etc., etc. BUT! I do have two novels to revise, or at least I will once my editor gets back to me with a revision letter on AUT, and really I do need to start revising MB. I have to do it somewhere other than my cramped bedroom, so maybe I’ll move all my crap into the kitchen on Halloween and take advantage of the peace and quiet that is all my friends going out without me* and sit down and actually do the damn thing. I wish I could do NaNo this year, though, for some reason, I have no idea why, so maybe I will make a non-serious attempt just to amuse myself when I’m blocked on revisions or something. I have two projects I’m thinking about working on, neither of which I’m sure I want to publish. I’ll let you know what I decide.

4. The good news about MB is that opinions are starting to trickle in from people who have read it or are reading it and the consensus is that it’s pretty hilarious. I actually got a text from my friend Katie last night, past midnight, just to tell me that she had finished a certain chapter and “was literally LOL-ing”. And, like, I can’t take a lick of credit for that since I have the funniest friends on the planet and truthfully I just write down all the funny things they say and then steal them, but I guess that’s what being a writer entails, and also at least I know that they’re funny and will be funny to others. Although, I’m not sure how much of the book is funny in its own right and how much of it is funny to the people I know who have read it because it’s full of Easter eggs and inside jokes. Whatever! I still think y’all will like it when it comes out in 2011.

*For the record, I’m not being left out, I’m doing a temporary Halloween exile because I hate Halloween. I don’t like dressing up, I don’t like crowds, and it turns out that I don’t even really like candy anymore (except for Reese’s peanut butter cups, which I will love forever and for always), which is sort of weird but I’m going with it.

One Response

  1. OMG… I’m famous. 🙂

Leave a Reply

