Cool stuff I can’t do but you totally should

Luckily for anyone in the NYC metro area, just announced today on Scott Westerfeld’s blog, there’s going to be a NYC Teen Author Festival March 16-22, 2009. Doesn’t that sound fun?

What? No, I’m not bitter I can’t go. Even though so many of the authors appearing on the panels are people whose blogs I read religiously and whose books I really like. It’s fine. I have a job, and I’m grateful for that. I’m not at all upset that I’m missing Scott, Justine Larbalestier, David Levithan, Diana Peterfreund and others discuss their juvenalia*, even though I admire their bravery because you’d have to threaten me with extreme bodily harm before I’d agree to do that and EVEN THEN I wouldn’t be able to because I have absolutely no idea where any of my juvenalia is, or if it is even still extant. I mean, that doesn’t even sound cool at all. Lots of YA authors reading from works in progress or playing in a rock band or signing books or celebrating teen readers? SNORE.

Whatever. You should go, though. LUCKY.

*There are three different ways I can think of to spell that word (“juvenelia”, “juvenilia”, and “juvenalia”) and they all look totally wrong. I’m going to trust that Scott Westerfeld got it right. I’m not even going to look it up, that’s how much I trust him. It’s like that game where you fall backwards into someone’s arms except with words, which makes it even scarier.

Leave a Reply

