What happened to your face?

Guess what I found on the intertubes today? It’s a trailer for a show about a group of wannabe actors in LA who are just cater waiting (GEDDIT?!) for their big break. It stars, like, half the cast of Veronica Mars (JAY KAY, just Ryan Hansen and Ken Marino, but I love them), Lizzy Caplan (of Mean Girls/The Class fame–did anyone else watch The Class?), and Jane Lynch (of everything imaginable, but apparently she was in The 40 Year Old Virgin). Also, Enrico Colantoni, Jason Dohring, Ed Begly Jr., and Kristen Bell (ALL OF VERONICA MARS FAME) are going to guest. It’s called Party Down, and it was created by Rob Thomas, the creator of Veronica Mars.

A while back I did a “Where are they now?” Veronica Mars edition, but I forgot Robbie T, so can we just talk about Rob Thomas for a second? Now, I loved Veronica Mars. LOVED IT. So I don’t want to speak ill of the creator of one of the best shows on television ever. But my feeling is that he has way too many pots on the stove these days, because I’m quickly losing faith. He was the one who got the 90210 reboot started, and maybe people still watch that, but I couldn’t sit through five minutes of it. If he didn’t plan on sticking around and making sure it was a decent show, WHY EVEN DO IT? And then there’s his show Cupid, which originally starred Jeremy Piven and Paula Marshall (you may remember her as the guidance counselor on the first season of VM; she dated Keith) and is now being resurrected with Bobby Cannavale (Will’s boyfriend Vince on Will & Grace) and Sarah Paulson (Harriet from Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip). Except:

Yeah. I’m understandably skeptical. I believe the conceit of the show is that Bobby and Sarah are supposed to fall in love with each other, and yet I cannot see that working. I predict it will be canceled quicker than the old Cupid, which I’ve never seen. Rob Thomas was also involved in Big Shots, which, if you remember it, you know died a quick death because it wasn’t very good. So…maybe we should just focus on one thing at a time, Robbie T, okay? Because you’re awesome. But some of your shows…not so much. Although I promise to give Cupid a try before totally giving up on it.

Leave a Reply

