Mememememe

I got tagged on Facebook with this meme by four different people, so while it’s not in my nature to post notes on Facebook (I like to keep it simple on that thing), I thought I’d post it here so that everybody can enjoy it. Honestly, I can’t think of 25 people to tag, so I’m going to go with: Kim, you should do this. Also, everybody else on the whole Internet.

Once you’ve been tagged, you are supposed to write a note with 25 random things, facts, habits, or goals about you. At the end, choose 25 people to be tagged. You have to tag the person who tagged you. If I tagged you, it’s because I want to know more about you.

(To do this, go to “notes” under tabs on your profile page, paste these instructions in the body of the note, type your 25 random things, tag 25 people (in the right hand corner of the app) then click post.)

1. I was a competitive swimmer for several years and I was my strongest and fastest junior year of high school. Last night I went to the Y to swim laps and 1,000 yards really tuckered me out. This is so sad. But, then again, 1,000 yards!

2. I also played water polo at the hole position. I was even sort of okay!

3. I really like public transportation. Subways, elevated trains, trams, buses, commuter trains, ferry boats…I love it all. My dad is a transportation planner and has been since I was little, so maybe that’s it. Maybe it’s genetic.

4. However, I also love driving. That is genetic. My dad loves it, too.

5. Like Sara Bennett Wealer, I was a Kappa Alpha Theta in college and I really loved it. I even signed my contract in my favorite set of letters. I really admire my chapter and my school’s Greek system for sticking together and growing when there were all manners of obstacles in their way.

6. Apparently I’ve just signed away fourteen Mondays of my life to play in an amateur dart league. The truth is, though, that I’m not very good at darts.

7. I based the town in my debut novel, All Unquiet Things, on the town my family moved to when I was sixteen. Or, rather, the towns. It’s an amalgam.

8. I double degreed in English and political science in college, which is different than double majoring–I got two pieces of paper, one that says Bachelor’s of Arts and one that says Bachelor’s of Science. I had to take forty extra units to score that second one, which seems kind of excessive, but I couldn’t not do it. As a result, I overloaded almost every quarter for four years. It was quite a slog.

6. I’m addicted to Diet Coke. Well, maybe not, but I do really like it and have one or more every day.

7. I really love romantic comedies, and I was just telling a new friend yesterday how they sort of help me through writer’s block because they require almost no cognitive ability to be enjoyable, so the back of my brain can work out problems while the front of my brain thinks it’s relaxing and being entertained (science!). Anyway, Sweet Home Alabama is one of my favorite romantic comedies, and last night I was in our bar playing trivia and a guy came in with a baby strapped to him and I actually had the opportunity to say “You have a baby…in a bar!” when it’s appropriate, not just when I think it’s randomly funny, which I often do.

8. I make it a personal goal to read fifty books a year. I’ve been doing this for three years now (and counting) and I’ve gotten to at least 60 every year. I’m at six as of now.

9. I like savory more than sweet, but I am a sucker for Kit Kats, Snickers, and peanut butter M&Ms. This is why I don’t keep them in the house.

10. I don’t have television. I have a television in my apartment, but the only thing it’s hooked up to is a DVD player. This is not a quasi-hipster or Madonna-esque protest against the boob tube, but is in fact the result of a combination of poverty and laziness. That’s okay, though. You can watch almost anything online. And I do.

11. I’ve recently discovered that I’m way more like Blair Waldorf than is probably good. One essential difference between us is that she owns more headbands. I’m working to remedy this, although I will probably never catch up.

12. I love Hanson. You knew this, but I think it’s important enough to mention again.

13. I’m Polish.

14. I’m unofficially obsessed with the Mitford sisters, particularly Nancy Mitford, the author of two of my favorite novels: The Pursuit of Love and Love in a Cold Climate.

15. I moved to California after getting my driver’s license in Illinois, and I waited a year and a half to get a California one because of a law in California saying that you have to retake the driving test if you’re under eighteen. Too bad there’s another law that says you have to get a new driver’s license 10 days after moving to California. Whoops! I actually did get pulled over once, not because of anything I’d done, but because my brother, who had insisted on pumping the gas because “you don’t know how to do it” (??), had left the gas cap on. The cop pulled me over to tell me, but he did look at my license and ask, “Did you just move here?” I was like, “Yeah…” even though we’d lived there a year at that point. We even had California plates! It was pretty dumb all around.

16. I don’t have any pets of my own in NYC, but my family has a dog, a beagle named Valentine. We call her Val. She doesn’t know that she was thisclose to being named Cubone or Growlith or something (thanks to my sister’s Pokemon obsession).

17. My favorite song on the new Andrew Bird album, Noble Beast, is “Not a Robot, But a Ghost”. “Anonanimal” is pretty great, too.

18. I saw Titanic four separate times in theaters when it came out in 1997 and then not once again in its entirety until 2008, even though I owned the VHS tapes and now own the DVD. I still love it.

19. In fact, Kate Winslet is probably the only Hollywood actress I care about at all anymore. I just feel like she spends time making worthwhile movies and not alternately courting and then complaining about the paparazzi. She doesn’t make a spectacle of herself, she’s talented, and she seems very good-natured. That’s really all I ask for in a performer or artist of any sort.

20. I make a playlist on my iPod for every season and every novel.

21. My favorite color is blue.

22. My eyes are green (I’m running out of steam here).

23. I dyed my hair red for years, and it actually looked really good on me. But red fades faster than any other color and it’s expensive to keep up, so I’ve spent the last two years growing out my natural hair color, which is like a dirty dishwater blonde-brown and is completely unremarkable. I still haven’t grown it all the way out yet, which is annoying, and I’ve told myself that once my hair is completely natural again I have to wait a year before dying it red again, if I decide I want to.

24. I just started a Tumblr exclusively for uploading the music that I’m listening to, especially the music that’s influencing my work at the moment. It’s called aTunes, because that’s how I roll. Checkitowt! (I can only post one song a day on it, so right now all that’s up there is Andrew Bird’s “Not a Robot, But a Ghost”, which I talked about above.)

25. One of my bigger regrets was that I never studied abroad in college.

Phew! That’s probably too much information about me for people to stand, but it just happened. I need to leave my house. I’m feeling a little jumpy. I also need to work. Maybe I’ll take Viola out into the world.

Leave a Reply

