Bits and pieces

For some reason (I think it’s sleep deprivation due to the uncomfortable sauna-like levels of heat in my apartment) I’m super tired, and I don’t have enough energy to put together a coherent post, so I’m falling back on the crutch of all bloggers–the list!

  • Finished In the Woods by Tana French on Sunday and I literally had to lay down and take a nap afterwards because I couldn’t focus on anything else–I couldn’t read another book, I definitely couldn’t write, and I couldn’t even really read or goof off on the internets. It was SO GOOD, you guys. I kind of wish I’d saved Rites of Spring (Break) for after In the Woods because I really needed some kind of balm to soothe my flayed heart. I was very deeply affected by it, and as my dear, brilliant professor William Veeder always said (quoting Henry James), “In the arts, feeling is always meaning.” I wasn’t, unlike some people (a.k.a. facebook reviewers and my coworker Mary), disappointed with the ending, because I really, truly believe that Tana French is telling the truth when she says that she’s not done with Rob Ryan. I think I may have had such a strong reaction because the book is sort of similar to AUT, in that it’s a mystery involving the death of a young girl with a male narrator who is traumatized and fucked up by things in his past who solves the case with a female partner. Rob Ryan reminds me a lot of my protagonist, the character I spent six years crafting and living with, the one who still won’t fade away like an old soldier, who insists on having another book which I’m actually sort of pumped to write even though I know I won’t get to it seriously for a while…anyway. Read In the Woods–it’s beautiful, and I’m not even mad at it like I was at Donna Tartt’s The Little Friend, which means a lot. I’m super excited for The Likeness, which comes out July 17.
  • Discovered the perfect way to get over post-amazing-book depression: Anne Fadiman. (Sorry, this is not to say that Anne Fadiman writes non-amazing books, but I always find that the familiar essay lifts my spirit in the way other genres sometimes can’t.)
  • My busy weekend turned out to be pretty low-key after all. On Friday I had drinks at Cooper 35, this very very cheap Asian pub near Cooper Union, below Astor Place, that we go to sometimes, with Katie and Nikki and their coworker Caroline, then I went home to “do laundry”, a.k.a. read and write. On Saturday I actually did my laundry (er…most of it), then I went to Nikki’s apartment in Brooklyn for lasagna and berry cobbler and games. It was delicious (the food) and fun (the games) and nicely relaxing. The on Sunday I lazed around, finishing In the Woods and writing, and then met up with Carmen, my BFF from college, and her fiance Tim and his sister who lives in D.C. for dinner at La Lanterna in the Village and then drinks at Vol de Nuit, a Belgian beer bar I’ve been known to frequent, where Katie and Cambria joined us. Also, there was lots of lightning and thunder but no rain (which was good, because we were outside), and for a long time we thought it was late-night Pride-related fireworks, but actually now I think not. Yesterday I saw my friend Mike from my Review days (we met at Grand Central for a lunch and catch-up session), then back with Carmen and Tim last night for drinks at The View, the rotating bar at the top of the Marriott Marquis in Times Square, and then dinner at Patsy’s in Union Square. Tonight it’s drinks with University of Chicago people (there are not as many of us in New York as there are people I went to undergrad with in California, curiously) on St. Marks and then over to Cambria’s to wait for the imminent arrival of the San Diego chapter of the 4S–Kim and Jenny! You have no idea how excited I am about this. All four of us haven’t been together in one place since…San Diego, St. Patrick’s Day 2006? Over a year, in any case. It’s a watershed event! So, anyway, my life is full of goings-on, but not quite at the apocalyptic level I had been anticipating. What, me melodramatic?
  • No word yet on developments from the book front. You’ll know when I do/am allowed to say anything.

Um…I think that’s it?  Oh, and I got an air conditioning unit for the living room! So maybe the apartment won’t be sweltering when Kim and Jenny come to stay with me (they’re staying with Bri for the first couple of days). Here’s hoping our super puts it in the window tomorrow. Lata!

2 Responses

  1. You’ve always got the best recommendations for books…I’ve have to check out In the Woods.

    Also, your vignettes about NYC take me right back to my years there.

  2. Aw, thanks! I like to be helpful with the book recommendations. In the Woods is phenom, no lies.

Leave a Reply

